Epiphany in the Dark

Outside, in this night, the shadows play tricks on my eyes
and the ambiguous dark makes me dazed; drunk
so that I think I see you at every
corner.
I move through the dusk, turning around – there you are again.
I lunge forward but the breeze rustles in the trees and there’s
no one there.
As if my bottle were empty I stumble to the ground and
sit in clouded disarray. I thought that I was
thinking without you, dreaming without you but
now, in this hazy light, I see that I was only
thinking about you, dreaming about you and
nothing, nothing can ever set me free from you because
your laugh, your smile,
every little piece of you has infected me and I am
utterly, irrevocably, evermore
in love with you.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

